This guide will walk you through the essential first steps as a Jolt admin, from signing in to managing devices to setting up your team. With these foundations, you’ll be ready to explore Jolt’s full potential and simplify your operations.
Signing in to the web app
Jolt admins are invited to create their Jolt accounts through a “Welcome to Jolt” email sent out during initial sign-up or by invite from an existing admin. The initial contact for a Jolt account will have this email sent when the account is created.
Follow the instructions in your “Welcome to Jolt” email to create a password.
If you need this email re-sent or sent to another email, contact your existing Jolt admin.
Once you have your Jolt email and password, head to smartsense.co and choose the Jolt login option from the menu in the upper-right corner.
You'll be redirected to the login page. Enter your Jolt email and password then click login.
Navigating the web app
Once you’re logged into the web app, you’ll be presented with the Jolt home page.
On the left side of the screen, you’ll see the expandable menu that displays subscribed Jolt features as well as people management, account settings, and support resources.
In the top right corner, you’ll find the location switcher (for accounts with multiple locations) and the content group mode to location mode toggle.
Content group mode vs. location mode
Jolt has two modes to build your content on the web app:
Content group mode: Content built in this mode is shared with all locations on the account. Lists, Labels, Information Library, Sensor Alerts, and Communications can be created at a company level to standardize SOPs and accountability across locations.
Content created in content group mode can still be scheduled, assigned, and added at the location mode level.
This method is designed to save time and effort for managing your core company content.
Location mode: Content built in this mode is specific to the location chosen. Some features like Scheduling, Time Clock, and your employee roster are always used at Location Mode. Some accounts have separate concepts that require different content at location level.
Checklists created in location mode can be bumped up to content group mode if you want to share it with other locations.
People and roles
The people tab in the menu will lead you to the management page for people and roles in Jolt.
Users listed in this section are members of your roster that will utilize the Jolt app. Roles define their position in the business and the responsibilities assigned to them.
Adding users
You can add users one at a time by clicking add person in the top right corner of the page.
Please fill out the four required fields for each user:
First name
Last name
Jolt role
Jolt PIN
PINs
PINs are assigned to each user so they can identify themselves when signing in to complete tasks on a shared Jolt device. In the Jolt mobile app, they'll be prompted to log in, select their name, and enter their PIN to use the app.
Roles
Roles help you organize your users. You can manage roles to assign tasks, grant admin permissions, organize your schedules, and send notifications. To create a new role, click manage roles on the People page. On this next screen, you will see two default roles in the system:
Admin: This role has all location-based permissions, can create and edit content, and has admin permissions on the Jolt mobile app.
Team Member: This role has no extra permissions and is suited for standard employees completing work on the Jolt mobile app.
Smaller businesses may prefer to stick with the two default roles, but some will often create additional roles to break out employee assignments for lists and schedules.
To add a new role, select +new role.
A modal window will appear. Enter a name for the role, then click create role to continue.
On the next screen, you’ll be able to customize the role’s permissions, notifications, and list assignments.
Admin access settings are only for leaders in your business. The majority of employees usually have none of these options selected. For your leaders, here are the available permissions:
Location website admin: This permission allows a user to build and edit content for their assigned location on the Jolt web app, including editing users, checking lists, and reviewing schedules.
Device admin: This permission allows a user to access all admin settings on the Jolt mobile app, including adding new people, creating and deleting lists, and changing app settings.
Logbook admin: This permission allows a user to view and respond to all entries in the Logbook section.
Scheduling admin: This permission allows a user to view, edit, and publish the schedule as well as approve time off and availability requests.
Reports admin: This permission allows a user to access all results from Jolt checklists through Reporting.
Sensor admin: This permission allows a user to add, remove, and change settings for Jolt temperature sensor hardware.
Once you’ve named your new role and set its permissions, click save in the top right corner to apply changes.
Connecting and managing devices
Users set up in the Jolt web app can begin using the Jolt mobile app. Download the Jolt mobile app from your respective app store (App Store, Google Play, etc.), then open the app. This will take you to the login page.
You have two login options:
Logging in with Jolt credentials
If you have an email and password for the Jolt web app, click sign in to enter the same credentials in the Jolt mobile app.
Once you’ve logged in, pick your location and choose either personal device or shared device mode.
Personal device mode: Designed for a personal phone or tablet. You will stay logged in to your Jolt profile and receive push notifications straight to your device.
Shared device mode: Designed for a shared device where different users log in with their individual PINs.
Chose the mode that works best for you.
Connecting a device with a QR code
To connect a device using a QR code:
Log in to the Jolt web app.
Navigate to settings > devices on the left side menu.
Generate a QR code for your location. Each QR code is single-use; refresh the page to generate a new code if needed.
Use the generated QR code to connect your device by scanning it on the Jolt mobile app. Data will begin importing automatically. For additional assistance, contact Jolt support or your system administrator, and make sure to provide specific details about the location or device that needs the QR code.
Users with device admin permission can also generate QR codes using another mobile device already connected to your Jolt location. These QR codes are found under settings > device connection QR code.
Troubleshooting and best practices
Unable to generate QR code: Contact Jolt support or your system administrator.
Device not connecting: Ensure the QR code is scanned correctly and is not expired. Generate a new code if necessary.
Security protocols: QR codes are single-use and should not be shared via email for security reasons. Always generate a new QR code for each device to ensure secure connections.
Managing devices
Once you’ve connected one or more devices to your Jolt account, you can manage and audit these devices from the web app. On the left side menu select settings > devices.
On the next screen, you can manage devices, enable time clock settings for each device, and check for pending updates.
Once you’ve added your people, roles, and successfully connected your device, you’ll be ready to start using Jolt!














